Lux Film Days: european cinema in Bologna

Since 2012 the city of Bologna  hosts the “Lux Film Days'', the film festival of the three Lux Prize finalist films. The Lux Prize, the yearly European Parliament film award, is aimed to stimulate the debate about european integration as well as to promote the circulation of the european films. For this purpose the “Lux Film Days” is organized in more then 40 cities among the 28 members of the European Union showing the three contending films to the wider european audience. The initiative of Bologna takes place each year in December in the Cinema Lumière, Piazzetta P.P. Pasolini 2/b; the admission to the movies is free. The event is the result of collaboration between Milan's Office of the European Parliament, the Film Archive Foundation, the Europe Direct offices of  the Municipality of Bologna and of the Legislative Assembly of the Emilia-Romagna Region. Since the beginning in 2007,  the Lux Prize makes concrete the European Parliament commitment on behalf of the european film industry by focusing, every year, on three films that reflect the richness and cultural diversity in Europe. The award supports the european cinema with the profound conviction that, as a means of mass culture, it is an effective tool to inspire debate and reflection on Europe, its values and its future.  In fact, the Lux Prize covers the costs of subtitling the original version of  the three selected films in the 24 official languages of the EU. Furthermore, the films projections run all over the European countries during the Lux Film Days and the winning film will also have included both the adaptation of the original version for people with visual and hearing problems, and a further special promotion. List of the previous Lux Prize winners : Auf der anderen Seite - The Edge of Heaven by Fatih Akin (2007 ), Le silence de Lorna by Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne (2008) , Welcome by Philippe Lioret (2009) , Die Fremde - the foreign by Feo Aladag (2010 ), Les neiges du Kilimanjaro - the Snows of Kilimanjaro by Robert Guédiguian (2011), Io sono Li by Andrea Segre (2012), The broken circle breakdown by Felix Van Groeningen (2013), Ida by Pawel Pawlikowski (2014), Mustang by Deniz Gamze Ergüven (2015), Toni Erdmann by Maren Aden (2016), Sameblod by Amanda Kernell (2017), Kona fer í stríð - Woman at war by Benedikt Erlingsson (2018), God exists, Her name is Petrunya by Teona Mitevska (2019). Beyond the stories, every film cares,  with courage and authenticity, the Europeans lives, their beliefs, the doubts and the different identities. The selection and the competition are determined by a jury composed by film experts and members of European Parliament.

Ultimo aggiornamento: mercoledì 11 marzo 2020